Skip to main content

TRY Australia is now Sparkways! Find out why and how it might affect you here.

Led by James Meares, the Sparkways Board of Directors is made up of six Directors who are responsible for overseeing the governance, management and strategic direction and for delivering accountable performance in accordance with the organisation's goals and objectives. All of our Directors are proud pillars of the Melbourne community and together they bring a wealth of experience gained from many years in both government and commercial sectors.

James Meares 200x300

James Meares

Board Chair; Member - Board Performance, Audit & Risk Committee; Interim Chair; Human Resources, Remuneration & Nominations Committee

James has an executive background leading major multinational corporations operating throughout Asia Pacific and a long history as a non-executive director. An accomplished corporate executive within complex industrial and service-based businesses. He has also held Board positions in health, superannuation, FMCG industry, and child & family service organisations; as well as executive directorships in corporate entities throughout Asia.

Jane Brockington 200x300

Jane Brockington

Chair – Board Performance, Audit & Risk Committee

Jane was a public sector executive with more than 20 years’ experience across regulation, economic reform, and infrastructure policy. She now works with organisations on governance, regulation, integrity and change.

Worksafe Victoria - Non-Executive Director

Transport Accident Commission (TAC) - Non-Executive Director

Victorian Asbestos Eradication Authority - Non-Executive Director

Victorian Independent Remuneration Tribunal - Secondary Compliance Officer

Department of Treasury & Finance - Independent Member, Audit & Risk Committee

Craig Bryan 2017 supplied 200x300

Craig Bryan

Chair – Finance Committee

Craig has in excess of 30 years professional experience in a wide range of audit, due diligence and corporate advisory roles including mergers and acquisitions. He has gained extensive audit experience in both Australia and the United States across a wide range of national and multi-national corporate clients (both listed and unlisted) as well as large privately owned and operated businesses.

Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu - Audit and Assurance Partner

Institute of Chartered Accountants - B.Bus and Fellow

Sharon Smith supplied 200x300

Sharon Smith

Member – Finance Committee

Sharon has run strategic programs focussed on business expansion for more than 20 years. Working in the management consulting, education and manufacturing sectors she has extensive international, stakeholder management and product development experience. Former Board Director at Australian Volunteers International.

Greg Oliver 200x300

Greg Oliver

Member – Finance Committee

Greg has been practising law for two decades, has a background in general practice and now practises exclusively in family law.

Greg has previous board experience for a community health organisation

Law Institute of Victoria - Member

Family Law Section of Law Council of Australia - Member

2020 JO WATSON4254 WEB

Jo Watson

Member – Human Resources, Remuneration & Nominations Committee

Jo has over twenty years in leadership roles across marketing, strategy and operations with a background in commercial, not-for-profit and government organisations. Jo has held leadership roles with Telstra, World Vision Australia, YWCA Victoria (CEO) and the State Library Victoria where she was the Director of Community Engagement.

Save the Children Australia - Director of Supporter Engagement